MSA/TKM Round 2 at Glan y Gors

Henry Easthope winning the ABkC O Plate at Shenington

Henry Easthope winning the ABkC O Plate at Shenington

All result booklets, some photos, and championship points are now available on the appropriate pages on the site.  The race report will follow.  Preview follows:

Edgar’s Hyundai MSA/TKM Kart Championship Preview: Round 2 Glan y Gors 22-23 June

After some surprises at the first round in Cumbria, the series moves to north Wales for the eagerly anticipated second round. In the premier KZ1 geared class for the MSA British Kart Championship title the FIA-CIK U18 World Champion Henry Easthope stunned the regulars by pulling off two wins.  Since then he has bagged a championship title in the class, the ABkC Open, and therefore can sport the number zero on his kart. Despite his two wins, Daniel Borton’s consistent heat results puts him two points ahead.  The picture shows Easthope on his way to O Plate glory. For the MSA Junior British Kart Championship the Sahara Force India driver Jehan Daruvala and Philip Rawson shared the wins, with Daruvala some 5 points to the good over Daniel Ticktum and Rawson.  Oliver York came out on top of two hard fought MSA British Cadet Championship finals in the IAME class and enjoys a 14 point lead over Lewis Thompson with fast rising star Jonny Edgar in third. The former multiple British champion Bobby Game shows he still has what it takes despite being over 40 years of age, as he lead the Formula KGP despite the attentions of a more recent multiple British champion Mark Litchfield, and the O Plate winner Stefan Di Resta.  In fact both of them will hope to do much better as it is Phil Smith and Josh Waring who trail Game at the moment.  That leaves the economy TKM classes, where Matt Davies is on a roll in the Junior category with two dominant wins and an O Plate victory so far.  Alex Forward and Daniel Baybutt are nearest to him, albeit Forward with a 18 point deficit. Charlie Bruce-White leads the senior TKM Extreme with a miniscule advantage over Will van Es with Luke Graver 9 points further back. Although Van Es won both finals his poorer heats left him 1 point behind in the standings.

The circuit is set in rural farmland and has a long straight plus some extremely twisty corners, so a good overall setup is important. The 1100m track is situated near Cerrigydrudion, post code is LL21 0RU. The final corner is notorious for a last gasp change of position.

As always live timing and results are available on the Super One website ( ) or on the TAG-Heuer site .


Start typing and press Enter to search